Record Release: Dancing at Lughnasa

Pictured Above: Dancing at Lughnasa Poster. Photo Credit: Contributed.

Newsroom Post: NEW YORK, NEW YORK


New York, NY – Broadway Records announces the release of National Theatre’s Dancing at Lughnasa, with original music by award-winning musician Hannah Peel. The ten track album is now available at and on all digital platforms. You can listen now on your service of choice by visiting

Continuing a collaboration with the National Theatre of music from shows including the Tony Award winning play The Lehman Trilogy, Wuthering Heights, and the new musical Hex, the latest release includes ten stirring compositions by Hannah Peel, featuring musicians Alice Allen, Joëlle Barker, Niamh Dunne, Seán Graham, Andrea Magee, Conal McDonagh and Hannah Peel. Brian Friel’s Olivier and Tony Award-winning drama played a limited run earlier this year at the National’s Olivier Theatre, directed by Josie Rourke.  The album is produced by Hannah Peel.

The track listing for Dancing at Lughnasa is:

  1. Dancing at Lughnasa

  2. First Light

  3. Marconi’s Voodoo

  4. The Mason’s Apron

  5. Lough Anna

  6. The Air is Nostalgic

  7. Ceremony

  8. Floating in Isolation

  9. A Mirage of Sound

  10. The Mundy Sisters

Hannah Peel is a Northern Irish artist, composer, producer and broadcaster. Her solo record career includes the shortlisted 2021 Mercury Music Prize electronic album, Fir Wave; 2016’s Awake But Always Dreaming, which became an ode to her grandmother’s mind as she lived with dementia; and the space-themed Mary Casio: Journey to Cassiopeia, scored for synthesizers and a 30 piece colliery brass band. Peel navigates synthesizers, electronics, classical orchestral work, hand punched music boxes and unique sound world compositions for TV and film as well as her own solo albums. Following her Emmy-nominated score for Game of Thrones: The Last Watch, her soundtrack for TV psychological thriller, The Deceived won a 2022 Royal Television Society NI award and the Music Producer’s Guild “Best UK original Score Recording of 2021”. A regular collaborator with Paul Weller, she has conducted and scored orchestral arrangements for his shows and live album at London’s ‘Royal Festival Hall’ and contributed arrangements to his no.1 album’s On Sunset and Fat Pop. In April 2022 Hannah released a new, critically acclaimed album The Unfolding with Paraorchestra – the world’s only disabled and non-disabled integrated orchestra which went straight to No.1 in the UK Classical Charts. This year she won her first Ivor Novello – her score to the 7-part Sky TV series The Midwich Cuckoos won ‘Best Television Soundtrack’.   Hannah is also a regular presenter on the BBC Radio 3 show, Night Tracks.

The National Theatre makes theatre that entertains and inspires using its creativity, expertise and unique reach. The National Theatre shares unforgettable stories with millions of audience members across the UK and around the world – on its own stages, on tour, in schools, on cinema screens and streaming at home. World-leading artists make their best work at the National Theatre with the widest possible audience and impact. The National Theatre invests in talent and innovation on stage and off, taking seriously its role as the nation’s theatre. Of the new productions developed each year with a wide range of theatre companies, a third of that research and development resource is dedicated to shows staged at theatres outside London. Through touring our work to local theatres and schools and nationwide education and community programmes, we are active in 71 of the 109 levelling up priority areas in the UK. A registered charity with deeply embedded social purpose, the National Theatre works with hundreds of schools and communities across the UK to fire imagination and inspire creativity, and to develop skills and pathways for careers in theatre.  For more information, please visit  @NationalTheatre

Broadway Records is the leading, Grammy® winning record label dedicated to releasing the most popular and current Broadway cast recordings, as well as preserving legacy musical theatre and theatre vocalists’ repertoire. Under the leadership of Broadway Records’ president and founder Van Dean, recent releases include the 2023 Broadway Revival of Camelot, New Off-Broadway Cast Recording of Assassins, the Grammy-nominated New Broadway Cast Recording of Caroline, Or Change,  If The Fates Allow: The Hadestown Holiday Album,  Grammy-nominated Burt Bacharach & Stephen Sater’s Some Lovers,  Grammy-nominated Stephen Schwartz’s Snapshots, The Lehman Trilogy, Grammy-nominated Randy Rainbow’s A Little Brains, A Little Talent, Legacy: Two Song Cycles by Ahrens and Flaherty, the Grammy and Tony Award-winning revival of The Color Purple, the Tony Award-winning and Grammy-nominated revival of Once On This Island, the Grammy-nominated Matilda The Musical, Fiddler on the Roof(2015 revival) and My Fair Lady (2018 revival), Anastasia, Bandstand, Groundhog Day, The Lightning Thief and NBC’s television events, “The Wiz Live!” and “Peter Pan Live!” as well as solo albums from Patti LuPone, Lea Salonga, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Jessica Vosk, Kyle Taylor Parker, and many more. The label’s critically-acclaimed “Live at Feinstein’s/54 Below” series features top Broadway stars including Aaron Tveit, Annaleigh Ashford, Norbert Leo Butz, Sierra Boggess, Laura Benanti, Robbie Rozelle, Adam Pascal & Anthony Rapp, Micky Dolenz, and many others. Broadway Records philanthropic endeavors also include the “Broadway For Orlando: What The World Needs Now is Love”, “We Are The World” by Broadway United and “Broadway Kids Against Bullying: I Have a Voice” music videos and From Broadway With Love benefit concerts for Sandy Hook, Orlando (Emmy Award for Sound) and Parkland.  @bwayrecords

Read it First, Subscribe to Our Newsletter